Moon Phases

Astrologers divide the lunar month into eight phases. These are:

New Moon: Dreaming
Crescent Moon: Beginning
First Quarter Moon: Manifesting
Gibbous Moon: Perfecting
Full Moon: Illuminating
Disseminating Moon: Sharing
Last Quarter Moon: Evaluating
Balsamic Moon: Surrendering

The phases are geometric relationships between the Sun and the Moon. When the Sun and Moon come together in the same sign at the New Moon, a seed is planted. At this time, we may also plant a personal intention. Just as a plant has a cycle of emergence, growth, blossoming, fruiting, setting new seeds, and finally dying into compost, our intentions also evolve through a similar process. The age-old practice of "Following the Moon" is a vibrant spiritual practice of mindfulness and magic anchored in the seasons of the year. The Sun embodies seasonal wisdom. The Moon speaks of our soul's evolution. The dance between the Sun and Moon anchors our experience on the Earth. We become apprentices to nature's process and through intention, contribute the magic.